Caltech     IPAC           JPL           NASA

WISE at 5: Legacy and Prospects

February 10-12, 2015

Beckman Institute Auditorium

California Institute of Technology

Twitter hashtag: #wise5

Interactive Session Questions and Follow-up



Presenter Information

Hotel and Local Information

Important Dates

Participants (click to view)

Organizing Committees

This conference will celebrate what has been done with WISE, what is being done with NEOWISE, and what will be done in the future.

NASA's Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer (WISE) was launched into orbit 5 years ago, and surveyed the entire mid-infrared sky in 2010. The satellite resumed surveying as NEOWISE in December 2013, and by the time of the conference will be on its fifth pass over the sky. Over 1,000 refereed papers based on the data have now been published, with results ranging from the discovery of the first Earth Trojan asteroid, to challenging the standard paradigm for quasar unification.

Confirmed speakers include:


click here to view the agenda, abstracts, and presentation PDFs online

click here to view the poster listing, abstracts, and poster PDFs online

click here for a PDF of the final agenda

click here for a PDF of the list of posters

click here for a key to the group photo

Registration and Conference Dinner

There is no registration fee for this conference, however all attendees must register through the online registration site.

A small amount of funding is available to cover local expenses (room and meals) for well justified cases, but we are not able to provide any airfare support. Participants who believe they would qualify for such support should email a brief explanation to by Friday Jan. 23. Students who request such support must attach a letter signed by their advisor stating that the requested support is not available from the advisor.

On Wednesday, Feb. 11 there will be a conference dinner at El Cholo, a Mexican restaurant in Paseo Colorado, a short walk from the Pasadena Sheraton. Dinner will be a buffet of Mexican food and the $39.29 price includes dinner, non-alcoholic drinks, tax, tip, and a BrownPaper Tickets service charge.

Click here to purchase a ticket. Note that tickets must be purchased by January 21, 2015 and are not refundable.

Presenter Information and Abstract Submission

The deadline for abstract submission was Dec. 12, 2014 and the link is now closed.

Contact if you have questions about abstract submission. Registrants have submitted abstracts for talks and posters. Due to available time in the agenda for talks, the SOC will recommend some abstracts be presented as posters. Posters should be no more than 40 inches wide x 36 inches high.

Hotel and Local Information

A room block at the FY2015 standard government rate ($133) has been reserved at the Pasadena Sheraton. This rate includes high speed internet access. Click the link below to make on-line reservations at the Pasadena Sheraton by the deadline: January 16, 2015.

Click here to make a reservation at the Pasadena Sheraton.

If you prefer other accommodations in the Pasadena area, there are a number of hotels and motels close to the Caltech campus.

Click here for further information on the conference venue, accommodations, travel, and local information.

Parking on the Caltech campus

Campus visitors may park in any commuter (unreserved) stall on campus with a daily or weekly permit. Permits are required in all campus lots between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Click here for Caltech parking regulations and here for a parking map.

Important Dates

Science Organizing Committee

  • Peter Eisenhardt (JPL)
  • Jacqueline Faherty (CIW DTM)
  • Lynne Hillenbrand (Caltech)
  • Davy Kirkpatrick (IPAC/Caltech)
  • Emily Kramer (UCF)
  • David Leisawitz (GSFC)
  • Amy Mainzer (JPL)
  • Joseph Masiero (JPL)
  • Luisa Rebull (IPAC/Caltech)
  • Ned Wright (UCLA)
  • Local Organizing Committee

  • James Bauer (JPL)
  • Peter Eisenhardt (JPL)
  • Beth Fabinsky (JPL)
  • Varoujan Gorjian (JPL)
  • David Leisawitz (GSFC)
  • Joseph Masiero (JPL)
  • Juleen Moon (UCLA)
  • Ellen O'Leary (IPAC/Caltech)
  • Luisa Rebull (IPAC/Caltech)
  • Ned Wright (UCLA)
  •         NASA         IPAC         JPL        
            UCLA     Caltech     Ball     SDL


    (last updated Jan. 26, 2015)